Career woman and mayoral candidate Caroline Sheppard (Amanda Langille) is determined to find her family's stolen dog, Dinah. Given a lead by an animal welfare activist, Caroline risks her safety and reputation and alienates her family as she searches for Dinah in the underground hell of puppy breeding mills and research laboratories. But when she confronts a brutal dog-fighting ring her courage inspires her family to reunite and help her rescue their pet. 

Facebook Twitter Gplus YouTube RSS
magnify

Help Vernon, British Columbia Ban the Sale of Dogs in Pet Stores

Published on January 23, 2013 in Blog

Many dogs sold in Canadian pet stores are brought into Canada through dog brokers in the United States.  Dogs bred and acquired through these brokers often suffer terrible neglect.  The same conditions can be found in many Canadian puppy mills.

But it doesn’t have to be this way.

Three municipalities in Canada have banned, or severely restricted, the sale of puppies  in pet stores: first was Richmond, BC; then Toronto (which also banned cat sales), followed by Mississauga, ON.

So the City of Vernon, BC, would be in good company should Council decide to restrict pet stores to adoptions through rescue groups and shelters.

Gina, a resident of Vernon made a presentation to Council last week, asking Council to consider a similar ban.

Vernon City Council is meeting again on January 28, 2013 to examine the impact such a decision would have on the City’s existing bylaws.

Your voice would be much appreciated.  Please send a polite letter or email to Council, urging them to take this important step forward – a complete ban on the sale of all live animals.  Let them know that you believe animals should be adopted only through rescue groups and shelters, not purchased in a store like a widget.

If you’d like to see Gina’s submission to Council, check out page 39 – 48 via this link: http://www.vernon.ca/images/uploads/council/agendas/packages/130114_1.pdf

Thank you for speaking out for the animals!

***

Contact Info for the City of Vernon

City Hall: 8:30 am – 4:30pm, Monday to Friday
3400 30th Street
Vernon, BC
V1T 5E6
250-545-1361
Fax: 250-545-7876

Mayor Robert Sawatzky
250-550-3508
mayor@vernon.ca

Patrick Nicol:
Cell: 250-550-6823
pnicol@vernon.ca

Juliette Cunningham:
Cell: 250-309-2432
jcunningham@vernon.ca

Catherine Lord:
Cell: 250-309-1685
clord@vernon.ca

Bob Spiers :
250-549-2819
bspiers@vernon.ca

Brian Quiring:
Cell: 250-309-2861
bquiring@vernon.ca

Mary-Jo O’Keefe :
Cell: 250-540-0634
mokeefe@vernon.ca

 
 Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Reddit Share on LinkedIn
No Comments  comments 

You must be logged in to post a comment.